• Alan Hartley

    Group Chairman

    Alan joined the company in 2004. A chartered accountant, he worked for KPMG for over 30 years. He is also Chairman of the Scottish Council of Independent Schools, Non-Executive Director of the ESPC, trustee of a number of national charities and holds several other non-executive directorships and advisory appointments.

  • Andrew Mickel

    Group Director

    Andrew Mickel joined the company in 2000. He was formerly Chairman of Homes for Scotland and Director of a community development project in the East End of Glasgow. He is also a Director of SWG3, a leading arts and music venue in Finnieston, Glasgow.

  • Craig Ormond


    Craig Ormond, Director, was appointed to the Board in 2017 and joined the Homes England Board in 2019. He has over 15 years’ experience in managing a UK-wide portfolio of strategic land, as well as a pipeline of sites for future development. His expertise also spans the Private Rental Sector and our commercial operations.

  • David Shaw

    Group Director

    David Shaw has been a non-Executive Director of Homes England since 2017 and he joined the Group Board in 2021. A qualified planner, he has over 36 years’ experience of residential development and construction in the private and social house sectors. David currently works with a number of pension funds, advising on residential investment.

  • Ed Monaghan

    Chief Executive Officer

    Ed Monaghan has over 36 years’ experience within the industry. He is a member of the CBI Construction Council and sits on the boards of local Glasgow charity Rosemount and the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland.

  • Joanne Casey

    Director & Homes England Managing Director

    Joanne Casey is Managing Director of Mactaggart & Mickel’s Homes England division and the Director responsible for sales, marketing and architectural design. She is Honorary Vice-President of the Institute of Customer Service, a member of the Board of Homes for Scotland and Chair of Business Beats Cancer (Glasgow) for Cancer Research UK.

  • Marion Forbes


    Marion Forbes is a Director of our Homes England and Homes Scotland divisions and leads the Human Resources, Health & Safety and Business Support teams. She has been instrumental in reinforcing Mactaggart & Mickel’s status as an employer of choice, securing Investors in People Platinum and Investors in Young People Silver accreditations. She is a member of the CITB’s Nation Council for Scotland.

  • Paul McAninch

    Group Director and Investments Managing Director

    Paul McAninch is Chair of Mactaggart & Mickel's Investments Board and Group Finance Director. He oversees Commercial Property, International investments, our Private Rental Sector portfolio and Investment Fund. He is a non-executive director of Glasgow-based tech start-up iOPT and sits on the advisory committee of the YFM Equity Partners 2016 Fund.

  • Peter Shepherd

    Homes Chairman

    Peter Shepherd is Chair of our Homes Board, he has over 30 years’ experience within the construction sector. He was appointed a director in 2011 and also sits on the Board of Management of Hillcrest Homes a registered social landlord operating in Scotland.

  • Ross Mickel

    Group Director

    Ross Mickel joined Mactaggart & Mickel in 2006 and the Group Board in 2012. He is a member of the Institute of Directors and the Young Presidents Organisation. Ross is passionate about innovation and sustainable construction.